Protection of Human Rights Act was enacted by the Parliament in the year 1993 under which the National Human Rights Commission was established and it was also provided that States shall have their own independent State Human Rights Commission. The Government of Haryana has also established its own State Commission to provide the citizens of Haryana, an autonomous Commission to deal with the violation of human rights at different levels. The establishment of Human Rights Commission for Haryana reflects the commitment of the government towards transparent governance and speedier mechanism for getting redressal of violations of citizens rights. Human rights are inalienable rights not only recognized by various international Covenants and treaties but are also enshrined in the Constitution of India. Ultimate goal of any democratic government is to secure these rights being the mandate of the Constitution. Haryana Human Rights Commission came into existence in September, 2012 and Hon’ble Mr. Justice Vijender Jain, Former Chief Justice of Punjab & Haryana High Court, Chandigarh was appointed as Chairperson along with two other members namely Mr. Justice H.S.Bhalla, Hon’ble Member and Shri J.S.Ahlawat, IAS (Retd.), Hon’ble Member. On 23.04.2018 Hon’ble Mr. Justice S.K. Mittal, Retired Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court has been appointed as Chairperson of Haryana Human Rights Commission and Hon’ble Mr. Justice K.C. Puri, Retired Judge of Punjab & Haryana High Court,Chandigarh has been appointed as Member. On 20.09.2018 Sh. Deep Bhatia has been appointed as Member. The Government has also provided the services of one IAS Officer as Secretary of the Commission and one Inspector General of Police as the Director of Investigation Agency. Presently, posts of the Hon'ble Chairperson, Hon'ble Member and Secretary are lying Vacant. Sh. Deep Bhatia, Hon'ble Member has been designated as an Acting chairperson.